Grateful for our past, expectant for our future

CCC Tree LogoCCC has a deep and rich heritage with roots that date back to the earliest days of Johnson County. In 1836, early settlers in the Hurricane Community founded churches affiliated with three different denominations.

Each group built a place of worship and in 1879 the Pleasant Hill church built a new brick building at their location which was dedicated on October 10, 1880. This building, which was built for $6,000, would serve as the sanctuary for what would become CCC through 1996.

A casual conversation around February 1917 eventually led to more specific discussions about the three churches coming together to become one church.  Later that year, each church sacrificed their former denominational affiliations. One hundred eighty charter members joined together to form CCC and the first collective service was held in September 1917.

Change and growth have continued as a part of the church, with building additions being completed in 1947, 1986 and 1996.

With such a deep and rich heritage, the best days of CCC are still ahead. We are grateful for our past and expectant for our future.

Advertisements